[ Main Page || Kodak Contacts || FAQs || File Format || Forums ]

This site is not affiliated with the Eastman Kodak Company.

[Register]  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Your Preferences]  [Search]
[Private Messages]  [Memberslist]  [FAQ]  [Login]
Cineon Forum Index Discussions / Questions log encoding Q
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
Author log encoding Q
Beak

Posted: 2005-09-02 04:55   
This may sound like a dumb question, but I am an Artist after all(!)

When data is endoded log, are we talking about natural log, or base 10 log to generate the Cineon/DPX values?

TIA

---------Beak
Inferno Artist (Lead)/ Digital Colorist
http://www.beakfx.com
Beak f(x) Inc. - VFX | Design | Color

View Profile of Beak   Goto the website of Beak      Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
David Hodson

Posted: 2005-09-02 08:40   
Quote:

When data is endoded log, are we talking about natural log, or base 10 log to generate the Cineon/DPX values?

It doesn't really matter, since logs are all the same except for a scale factor, but the calculations are usually given in terms of density, which is the (negative of the) base 10 log of the transmission.

View Profile of David Hodson   Email David Hodson   Goto the website of David Hodson      Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
Beak

Posted: 2005-09-02 14:42   
Quote:

It doesn't really matter, since logs are all the same except for a scale factor, but the calculations are usually given in terms of density, which is the (negative of the) base 10 log of the transmission.

Thanks for your answer,

?? Hmmmm. I didn't know that. No offence, but are you sure? (*1). Is this true if integers or does the series need to be real numbers? As you might have guessed, logs were not my strong suit until later in life when I became a "Cineon Chump"(*2) in addition to a compositor.